SIX DEGREES OF SEPARATION (1)

 

SIX DEGREES OF SEPARATION – From Lincoln in the Bardo to Freaky Games

 

Six Degrees of Separation is a monthly meme hosted by Books Are My Favourite andBest. The idea is to start with the book that Kate gives us and then create a chain of six books, each suggested by the one before.

 

It’s time for #6degrees. Join in and see where your book chain takes you.

 

 

This month we begin with the book that topped the critics list in 2017 – Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders.

I have not read Lincoln in the Bardo, although a historical fiction book based on Abraham Lincoln and his son does have its appeal.  Saunders is also the author of  Tenth of December: Stories.

In December, just gone, I read and reviewed an absolute delight of a Christmas story by Jessica Redland called Charlee and the Chocolate Shop.

On the topic of chocolate, I like milk chocolate bars.  But back to the books, Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel is a book that I absolutely must read, in Spanish.  I’ve had the Spanish version on my kindle for almost two years now and must get to it especially as it’s on the syllabus for our Spanish Literature students.  Thankfully, I’m not the teacher for that course!

Speaking of books I should read in Spanish, 100 Years of Solitude by Gabriel García Márquez is another one.  I’ve already read this book in English and really did not like it and there’s no way I’ll be re-reading in Spanish.

The magical realism of 100 Years of Solitude does bring me to a key theme in The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, which was on my TBR for this month and was absolutely fantastic!

Finally, on the topic of the circus, I can round off this list with Freaky Games by Amanda M. Lee.  Freaky Games is the most recent instalment of the Mystic Caravan Circus mystery series.

 

 

Form historical fiction to paranormal cozy mystery, my first six degrees of separation journey was quite varied and lots of fun.  I’m looking forward to continuing next month.

You really should try it, if you haven’t before.  The link is open all month.  Link me so I can follow your journey too!

 

Next month’s journey begins with a controversial book that had everyone talking in the nineties – The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf.

19 thoughts on “SIX DEGREES OF SEPARATION (1)

Add yours

  1. I love your chain! How fun that a chocolate shop and The Night Circus were included along with the Lincoln book! Each person’s chain is so unique and that’s the fun of it! Great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved Love in the time of Cholera by Gabo. I was looking forward to reading One Hundred Years of Solitude but I’m skeptical now after hearing your thoughts on it. 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is so cool! It’s interesting to see the direction it goes as you pick the next book. So unique! ❤

    Happy Friday! Hope you have a wonderful weekend too. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this meme and your answers! Also I didn’t know you taught Spanish- that’s very cool! I hear you about 100 years of solitude- I didn’t enjoy it- although I put that down to the fact I never like stream of consciousness books (obviously I wouldn’t be reading it in Spanish even if that is a remote possibility- which it isn’t 😉 ) I’m so so glad you enjoyed Night Circus though! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Basic Spanish! Lol. I mostly do the Latin American history and Politics…. Spanish when I’m course short 😊
      Stream of consciousness!!! That’s the perfect way to describe 100 years. That is definitely something that did not appeal to me.
      Night Circus… Oh My Goodness 😳😳😊😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Lovely chain! This is actually my first time encountering this meme, it sounds really fun to write! Haha, loved how you elaborated on the chocolate bits! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

Pretty Purple Polka Dots

"If you have the words, there's always a chance that you'll find the way"

Books & Chat

Talk about books, reading, and thoughts

Sharon E. Cathcart

Award-Winning Author of Heart-Warming Romance and Historical Fiction with a Twist!

Hilltown Families

Community-Based Education Network

Angie Dokos

Living life one chapter at a time.

Kat Over Coffee

Let's talk about romance novels, food, travel and motherhood!

The Geeky Jock

A Book Blog

Bookaholic

Book Reviews, Recommendations

Tracey at Home

An ordinary life lived in my own way.

Inside My Library Mind

Books, Reviews & More

The Punk Theory

This world's wild at heart and weird on top.

Love for Words - Book Blog

Book reviews, bookworm hacks, bookish content!

A World of Books

Books ~ What else is there?

James J. Cudney

Best Selling Author of Family Drama & Mystery Fiction

Metaphors and Miscellanea

Books, reviews, writings, and musings from the one and only K-Specks

Chelle's Book Ramblings

Let's Talk Books

THE HOBBLEIT

IN A HOLE IN THE GROUND THERE LIVED A HOBBLEIT

Jacquie Biggar-USA Today Best-selling author

Read. Write. Love. 💕💕💕