The Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett – Review and Blog Tour @J_B_Writer @rararesources

Thanks so much to Rachel of Rachel’s Random Resources for a chance to be on this blog tour Welcome to my stop.

WELCOME TO THE BEAUTIFUL SEASIDE TOWN OF PORT AGNES.

A fresh start…

Midwife Ella Mehenick left the small Cornish town of Port Agnes for London and never looked back. But when her seemingly perfect life crashes down around her, there’s only one place she can heal her battered heart – the place she once called home. 

A new arrival…

Ella is quickly welcomed into the small community midwife team and loves her new job caring for mums and their precious babies – it’s what she does best! But being back also means facing ex-flame Dan Ferguson…the first man to break her heart. 

A second chance at love?

Dan is still as gorgeous as ever, but he’s never forgiven Ella for leaving. And now she’s back it’s clear that there is unfinished business between them. As Ella settles into her new/old life, she can’t stop the memories of how she once loved Dan so completely – and maybe never stopped.

Maybe coming home to Cornwall is Ella’s chance to love again…

Meet The Cornish Midwives of Port Agnes- where community, friendship and love are always delivered.

An uplifting and escapist read, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

This book was previously published as Return to Port Agnes.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3tpFg7V

There is so much to love about this charming story including an enchanting setting and endearing characters.

The Setting: I’ve always had a soft spot for stories set in Devon and Cornwall and look forward to such novels, especially if the author takes the opportunity to immerse readers in the setting. Jo Bartlett immediately wins over my heart when she pops me into a small seaside town where the sounds, sights and smells are seamlessly worked into the narrative. Ella, our protagonist, draws her strength from her family and small community of Port Agnes. By describing the businesses, locals and tourists who make up the town, the author allows readers to experience Port Agnes through Ella’s eyes and heart.

Ella: Our protagonist is the epitome of sweetness and drive. I’ll admit, Ella’s determination to do what she perceives as right by her parents got a little much at times, as it’s blatantly obvious her parents simply want her to be happy. However, that’s pretty much a main conundrum Ella has to work through. She must figure out why she is so compelled to over achieve. At what point will she be ‘enough’? I love that we’re allowed to see Ella in her various roles: as midwife, friend, daughter and romantic interest. We’re also privy to her growth in each area.

Ella’s Parents: They certainly provide some of the biggest ‘aww’ moments and several of the funny ones too! The sense of love of family and love of community they create is a key element of the story. Jago is the quintessential Cornishman – proudly born and bred, no outsiders need apply. Lol. But it’s never too late to teach an old dog some new tricks and Jago himself comes to see the value in the tourist industry…

Dan: Our male protagonist is book boyfriend worthy with his charm, compassion and ambition. I wish we’d had a couple chapters from his perspective to really make his character shine. That said, however, through his interactions with Ella and others, his motivations are made quite clear. 

The Midwife Role: I’ve always thought what a noble but often undervalued profession. I adored the midwives I met during my pregnancies and really enjoyed seeing the same spirit of commitment and competence reflected in the characters of this novel. Through the midwife unit in Port Agnes, readers get a sense of the inner workings of the town and the types of people living there.

The Story: This is a feel-good tale. I’ll admit, there are some cringe-worth moments, especially with Weller (whom, we should not be too hasty to judge), but the overarching sentiments are hope and love. Loose ends are all neatly tied up at the close and we have a pretty good idea of what’s happening with various members of the Ella’s immediate circle. 

I fully enjoyed this story and look forward to reading more tales set in Port Agnes! I give The Cornish Midwife 4.5/5 espresso shots.

About the Author

Jo Bartlett is the bestselling author of nineteen women’s fiction titles. She fits her writing in between her two day jobs as an educational consultant and university lecturer and lives with her family and three dogs on the Kent coast. Boldwood is publishing the first title in The Cornish Midwife Series – part of a twelve-book deal – in April 2021.

Social Media Links

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JoBartlettAuthor/

Twitter

Instagram:https://www.instagram.com/jo_bartlett123/


Blog Tour organised by Rachel’s Random Resources. Check out the tour for more reviews and info on The Cornish Midwife.

5 thoughts on “The Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett – Review and Blog Tour @J_B_Writer @rararesources

Add yours

  1. I love seaside settings too, Nina, especially Cornwall. It’s probably why I love the Poldark books so much. Ella sounds like an interesting character too. Glad you enjoyed this! The cover is adorable. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

By Hook Or By Book

Book Reviews, News, and Other Stuff

Pretty Purple Polka Dots

"If you have the words, there's always a chance that you'll find the way"

www.lousbookstuff.com/

Just the thoughts and ramblings of another book addict. 📖

The Bibliophilist Chronicles

Talk about books, reading, and thoughts

Sharon E. Cathcart

Award-winning Author of Historical Fiction with a Twist

Hilltown Families

Community-Based Education Network

Angie Dokos

Living life one chapter at a time.

Bibliomavens Book Blog

A Bookin' Good Time | Book Reviews, Discussions, Lists, and Writing Tips

The Geeky Jock

A Book Blog

Bookaholic

Book Reviews, Recommendations

Tracey at Home

An ordinary life lived in my own way.

Inside My Library Mind

Books, Reviews & More

The Punk Theory

This world's wild at heart and weird on top.

One More Word

Jules_Writes

Love for Words - Book Blog

Book reviews, bookworm hacks, bookish content!

A World of Books

Books ~ What else is there?

James J. Cudney

Best Selling Author of Family Drama & Mystery Fiction

Metaphors and Miscellanea

Books, reviews, writings, and musings from the one and only K-Specks

Chelle's Book Ramblings

Let's Talk Books

THE HOBBLEIT

IN A HOLE IN THE GROUND THERE LIVED A HOBBLEIT

%d bloggers like this: