WWW Wednesday (29)

Today I’m participating in WWW Wednesdays hosted by Sam of Taking on a World of Words.

The Three Ws are…

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading

Cozy mysteries and romance novels are the books filling my days at the moment. These light-hearted reads are perfect as I settle into a new semester.

A Spell for Trouble is Book 1 in a new series. I came across this one on NetGalley, thought it looked good and downloaded it. It was definitely a good choice. I’ve found a new series to enjoy!

Fans of Ellery Adams and Heather Blake will be charmed by Esme Addison’s new Enchanted Bay mystery series.

Aleksandra Daniels hasn’t set foot in the quiet seaside town of Bellamy Bay, North Carolina in over twenty years. Ever since her mother’s tragic death, her father has mysteriously forbidden her from visiting her aunt and cousins. But on a whim, Alex accepts an invitation to visit her estranged relatives and to help them in their family business: an herbal apothecary known for its remarkably potent teas, salves, and folk remedies.

Bellamy Bay doesn’t look like trouble, but this is a town that harbors dark secrets. Alex discovers that her own family is at the center of salacious town gossip, and that they are rumored to be magical healers descended from mermaids. She brushes this off as nonsense until a local is poisoned and her aunt Lidia is arrested for the crime. Alex is certain Lidia is being framed, and she resolves to find out why.

Alex’s investigation unearths stories that some have gone to desperate lengths to conceal: forbidden affairs, family rivalries, and the truth about Alex’s own ancestry. And when the case turns deadly, Alex learns that not only are these secrets worth hiding, but they may even be worth killing for.

Recently Finished

Book 3 in the Magic Market Mysteries takes a deeper look into Jolene’s past and brings some answers to questions readers have been considering since the first book. Another fun-filled instalment.

A murder at a costume party. A boat full of suspects. What will she do when a body drops and the masks stay up?

Pet psychic Jolene could use a break from hiding her flawed powers. So when her cop crush and his lie-detecting dog invite her to a masked Policeman’s Ball on a boat, she dives in head-first. But the problems from her past return when the officer of the year turns up dead.

Working to lay bare the murderer, Jolene discovers both the man who broke her heart and the woman who cursed her are onboard… and engaged to be married. But her troubled history threatens to blow her cover as she combs through a conga line of potential culprits — including the ghost of a deceased sea captain.

Can Jolene expose the cop’s killer when she’s still under a crippling curse?

Up Next

I decided I’d try the Romance Book Reading Challenge after all. This month’s genre is Contemporary Romance. There were four cues offered as well and I chose the Goodreads Choice Award Nominee. Just my luck, I already had this one on my Kindle TBR!

Kailyn Flowers was always calm, rational, and controlled–until she ended up sprawled all over Daxton Hughes, the former actor she totally crushed on as a teenager. Then she did the unthinkable: She became a mortifying fangirl in five seconds flat, which may or may not have included professing her undying love. And oddly, he didn’t run away. In fact, their meet cute led to a friendship she never saw coming. Of course, she never saw his betrayal coming, either…

Now Dax needs her help. As guardian to his thirteen-year-old sister, he’s in way over his head. And though Kailyn hasn’t forgiven Dax, she isn’t heartless enough to make him fend for himself, either. Soon their friendly meetings turn into flirty dinner dates, and Kailyn can feel their chemistry is as explosive as ever. But how can she possibly let down her guard again to a guy who has heartbreak written all over him?

These are the stories filling my days at the moment.

What about you? Have you read any of these? What are you enjoying today?

7 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (29)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Sharon E. Cathcart

Award-winning Author of Historical Fiction with a Twist

Hilltown Families

Community-Based Education Network

Angie Dokos

Living life one chapter at a time.

bibliomavens

A Bookin' Good Time | Book Reviews, Discussions, Bookstagram, and Writing

The Geeky Jock

A Book Blog

Bookaholic

Book Reviews, Recommendations

Tracey at Home

An ordinary life lived in my own way.

Inside My Library Mind

Books, Reviews & More

The Punk Theory

This world's wild at heart and weird on top.

One More Word

Jules_Writes

Love for Words - Book Blog

Book reviews, bookworm hacks, bookish content!

A World of Books

Books ~ What else is there?

James J. Cudney

Author of contemporary & mystery fiction: where family drama meets suspense

Metaphors and Miscellanea

Books, reviews, writings, and musings from the one and only K-Specks

Chelle's Book Ramblings

Let's Talk Books

It's All About Books

Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body

THE HOBBLEIT

IN A HOLE IN THE GROUND THERE LIVED A HOBBLEIT

Jacquie Biggar-USA Today Best-selling author

Read. Write. Love. 💕💕💕

Tea & Cake For The Soul

Sharing the nicer things in life such as art, travel, books and of course cake. Also discussing household and money saving tips, upcycling, eco issues & health.

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Way Too Fantasy

Speculative fiction book reviews and more!

The Crime Librarian

Bookish Reviews & Chats

%d bloggers like this: