Blog Tour and Review of Murder, She Encountered by Peg Cochran

Murder, She Encountered (Murder, She Reported Series)
by Peg Cochran

Murder, She Encountered


Murder, She Encountered (Murder, She Reported Series)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Alibi (December 3, 2019)
Print Length ~230 Pages
Digital ASIN: B07PKJGHGK

A gutsy Manhattan socialite encounters murder and corruption at the World’s Fair in this captivating historical cozy mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Susan Elia MacNeal, and Rhys Bowen.

New York City, 1939. A rising star at the Daily Trumpet, Elizabeth “Biz” Adams has been sent to the World’s Fair—billed as the “World of Tomorrow,” a look toward a brighter future even as the drumbeats of war grow louder—to cover a robbery. What she stumbles upon instead is a dead woman, dumped into the Aquacade’s pool with a nylon stocking wrapped around her neck.

Elizabeth snaps a photo as the police arrest Joey Dorman, a gentle young hot dog vendor who made no secret of his obsession with the murder victim. Even though she’s thrilled that her photo makes the front page, the fear and confusion evident on Joey’s face are haunting. So Elizabeth vows to prove his innocence—or his guilt—with her partner at the Daily Trumpet, Ralph Kaminsky. Meanwhile, her romance with Detective Sal Marino is heating up, and Elizabeth is more determined than ever to follow her heart.

But when Kaminsky’s efforts to expose the real killer land him in the hospital, Elizabeth is forced to continue the investigation on her own. And as she tries to narrow down the long list of suspects, she discovers a dark secret running through the Fair—a secret some would kill to protect.

Look for all of Peg Cochran’s delightful mysteries featuring Elizabeth Adams, which can be read together or separately:
MURDER, SHE REPORTED
MURDER, SHE UNCOVERED
MURDER, SHE ENCOUNTERED

Review 1

Peg Cochran shows once again that she’s a master at the cozy historical mystery!

The historical setting is expertly crafted and obviously very well-researched. Through the constant cigarette smoking, references to polio sufferers, talk of war, limited mobility of women, fashions of the time and fantasizing about one day having central air-conditioning in public buildings, the reader is transported back in time to New York City just before WWII. The World’s Fair held in NYC in 1939 is the backdrop this instalment in the Murder, She Reported series. The descriptions are never excessive but always on point to help the reader imagine the world in which Biz lives and just what is and isn’t possible as yet. I absolutely adored the depictions of the expos and shows presented at the fair. Nylon stockings made their debut in 1939 and feature prominently in this novel!

The mystery itself is well-plotted. Upon the discovery of the crime, potential suspects immediately emerge. There are a couple I really wanted to be guilty and others whom I felt a bit sorry for. As we follow Biz and Kaminsky in their search for the big story, we meet even more suspects and have to wonder at the veracity of some of stories they are being told. The clues and red herrings come pouring in and, bit by bit, Biz and Kaminsky, with the reader, piece together the main culprits and why they may have done what they did. The big reveal is quite dramatic, and may even make you grateful for access to a cell phone these days!

The romance between Biz and Marino steps up just a notch as they both meet the respective parents. It’s not a given that this is a love that’s meant to last. Social and cultural differences and expectations do weigh heavily, after all. Biz seems determined to set and follow her own path, however, and not just in the romance department.  Young women of her class and time were expected to live at home until they married. She wants to buck that trend and sets out apartment hunting. Future books will reveal how that decision affects her relationship with her family.

Overall, I enjoyed visiting the NYC of decades ago and piecing together a mystery without the aid of modern forensics and instant research capabilities. I look forward to continuing this series.

4.5/5 espresso shots.

4.5 Shots


About the Author

Mystery writing lets Peg indulge her curiosity under the guise of “work” (aka research). As a kid, she read the entire set of children’s encyclopedias her parents gave her and has been known to read the dictionary. She put pen to paper at age seven when she wrote plays and forced her cousins to perform them at Christmas dinner. She switched to mysteries when she discovered the perfect hiding place for a body down the street from her house.

When she’s not writing, she spends her time reading, cooking, spoiling her granddaughter and checking her books’ stats on Amazon.

A former Jersey girl, Peg now resides in Michigan with her husband and Westhighland white terrier, Reg. She is the author of the Sweet Nothings Lingerie series (written as Meg London), the Gourmet De-Lite series, the Lucille series, the Cranberry Cove series, and the Farmer’s Daughter series.

Author Links:

Website – http://www.pegcochran.com/

Newsletter Sign Up – http://www.pegcochran.com/newsletter-signup.html

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pegcochran

Twitter – https://twitter.com/@pegcochran

GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5352603.Peg_Cochran

BookBub – https://www.bookbub.com/authors/peg-cochran

Purchase Links:

Amazon B&N Kobo

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

December 2 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

December 3 – The Book Diva’s Reads – SPOTLIGHT

December 4 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

December 5 – The Cozy Pages – REVIEW

December 6 – View from the Birdhouse – SPOTLIGHT

December 6 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW

December 6 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT

December 7 – Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews

December 8 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

December 9 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

December 10 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

December 11 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

December 11 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW

December 12 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

December 13 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

December 13 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

December 14 – The Pulp and Mystery Shelf – SPOTLIGHT

December 14 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW

December 15 – OFF

December 16 – I Read What You Write – REVIEW

December 17 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

December 17 – Book Club Librarian – SPOTLIGHT

December 18 – Island Confidential – SPOTLIGHT

December 19 – Here’s How It Happened – REVIEW

December 19 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW

December 20 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

8 thoughts on “Blog Tour and Review of Murder, She Encountered by Peg Cochran

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

It's All About Books

Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body

THE HOBBLEIT

IN A HOLE IN THE GROUND THERE LIVED A HOBBLEIT

Jacquie Biggar-USA Today Best-selling author

It's All about the Romance 💕💕💕

Tea & Cake For The Soul

Music, recipes, health, travel, books, tips, upcycling & eco issues

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Way Too Fantasy

Speculative fiction book reviews and more!

The Bookish Hooker

Bookish Reviews & Chats

lilian's blog

lifestyle and humanitarian stories? is that what you looking for? you are in the right place

Author Julie Seedorf

Author, Columnist, Dreamer

Let's talk Pop Culture!

A forum for discussing all things nerdy.

celinelingg

Book Blog

the bubbles inside my head

My bibliophilic journey and more.

AvalinahsBooks

Book blog and book love

Laurie Woodward

An Author Promoting Peace Creatively

The Reading Chemist

Out of the lab & into the books!

b u g ∙ b u g

BOOK REVIEWS

Leave Me Alone I Am Reading and Reviewing

Look Below the Keys for Books Reviewed by a Readaholic

Books and Bindings

Books, reads, writings, reviews, nonsense, silliness, and everything in between.

Just Simply Me...

This gal's thoughts on all things entertainment mixed with the simple things in life.

%d bloggers like this: