Blog Tour and Review of Murder, She Uncovered by Peg Cochran

Murder, She Uncovered
(Murder, She Reported Series)
by Peg Cochran

About the Book


Murder, She Uncovered (Murder, She Reported Series)
Cozy Mystery
2nd in Series
Alibi (May 28, 2019)
Print Length ~230 Pages
Digital ASIN: B07H1X2RT9

An intrepid 1930s Manhattan socialite uncovers deadly secrets during an assignment to the Hamptons in this riveting historical cozy mystery for readers of Victoria Thompson, Anne Perry, and Rhys Bowen.

Westhampton, 1938. To the dismay of her well-to-do family, Elizabeth “Biz” Adams is quickly establishing herself as a seasoned photographer over at the Daily Trumpet. Growing more confident in her decision to pursue a career, Elizabeth is thrilled when she and her reporter sidekick, Ralph Kaminsky, are sent to Long Island to cover the story of a young maid found dead in one of the glamourous summer homes in the devastating aftermath of the Great New England Hurricane—also known as the Long Island Express.

At first it’s assumed that the young woman was caught in the terrible storm, but when a suspicious wound is found on the side of her head, the police suspect murder. The maid’s death becomes even more tragic when it’s discovered she was pregnant, and with Elizabeth and Kaminsky at the scene of the crime, the Daily Trumpet scoops all the other papers in town.

The young woman’s boyfriend emerges as the likeliest suspect. But as Elizabeth follows the story, she begins to wonder whether someone in the household of the maid’s employers might be responsible—someone who’ll stop at nothing to keep the truth about the baby’s paternity hidden. . . .

Review 1

Other than a Miss Marple story, I suspect this might be the first historical Cozy that I’ve read. I wouldn’t swear on it but it’s possible. What I would swear is that, Murder She Uncoveredwon’t be my last historical cozy. I loved this book.

Peg Cochran easily transports readers to another time, New York of the late 1930s, to be precise. The descriptions of fashions, events, even buildings and people are all worked seamlessly into the narrative and paint the most vivid picture for readers to enjoy. Dialogues and even conversation topics are also perfectly suited to the time period and also lend a touch of authenticity to the tale.

This is Book 2 in the Murder, She Reported series and works perfectly fine as a stand-alone. I haven’t read Book one and had no trouble falling into the story. A few hints as to events in the previous book were dropped but it was just sufficient to bring the reader up to speed on relevant details.

Elizabeth ‘Biz’ Adams is a woman clearly far ahead of her times but she would not have been an unlikely lady to come across. After all, if it wasn’t for the forward thinking women of the past, where would we be today?!  I liked that for all her determination and bravery, she still hesitates to step out from all that she knows.  This makes her character seem even more believable and adds an intriguing complexity to a wonderful cozy heroine.

The only issue I came across relates to the secondary character, Kaminsky, who is Elizabeth’s partner-in-crime, so to speak.  He’s a rough-and-tumble, seasoned journalist who recognises and respects the young lady’s talents for solving a mystery.  One thing I found a bit out of character was Kaminsky’s not so subtle revelation of abuse when he was an altar boy. I realize it was actually a handy plot device to move an area of the mystery along, but the how and where of that very personal revelation didn’t seem in keeping with the rest of the picture painted of this character.

The murder mystery itself is very well-plotted. There are several varied suspects. The motive, means and opportunities for each of these suspects are valid.  The potential culprits are quite well-fleshed out and I found myself hoping for the innocence of a couple and rooting for the guilt of others.

Overall, this was my first foray into Peg Cochran’s work but I strongly suspect it won’t be my last! I look forward to the next instalment.  I give Murder, She Uncovered 4/5 camera-ready espresso shots.

4 Shots

Disclaimer: I received and eARC of this book courtesy the author and Great Escapes Virtual Book Tour.  All opinions expressed are my own.

About the Author

Mystery writing lets Peg indulge her curiosity under the guise of “work” (aka research). As a kid, she read the entire set of children’s encyclopedias her parents gave her and has been known to read the dictionary. She put pen to paper at age seven when she wrote plays and forced her cousins to perform them at Christmas dinner. She switched to mysteries when she discovered the perfect hiding place for a body down the street from her house.

When she’s not writing, she spends her time reading, cooking, spoiling her granddaughter and checking her books’ stats on Amazon.

A former Jersey girl, Peg now resides in Michigan with her husband and Westhighland white terrier, Reg. She is the author of the Sweet Nothings Lingerie series (written as Meg London), the Gourmet De-Lite series, the Lucille series, the Cranberry Cove series, and the Farmer’s Daughter series.

Author Links:

Website – http://www.pegcochran.com/

Newsletter Sign Up – http://www.pegcochran.com/newsletter-signup.html

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/pegcochran

Twitter – https://twitter.com/@pegcochran

GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5352603.Peg_Cochran

BookBub – https://www.bookbub.com/authors/peg-cochran

Purchase Links:

Amazon B&N Kobo

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

May 28 – A Wytch’s Book Review Blog – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

May 28 – The Book’s the Thing – REVIEW

May 29 – ❧Defining Ways❧ – SPOTLIGHT

May 29 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

May 29 – Here’s How It Happened – REVIEW

May 30 – The Cozy Pages – REVIEW

May 30 – fundinmental – SPOTLIGHT

May 31 – View from the Birdhouse – REVIEW

May 31 – LibriAmoriMiei – REVIEW

June 1 – Bibliophile Reviews – REVIEW, GUEST POST

June 1 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

June 2 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW

June 3 – Baroness’ Book Trove – REVIEW

June 3 – Readeropolis – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

June 4 – Rosepoint Publishing – REVIEW

June 4 – Mysteries with Character – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

June 5 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

June 5 – MJB Reviewers – SPOTLIGHT

June 5 – 4covert2overt ☼ A Place In The Spotlight ☼ – SPOTLIGHT

June 6 – Ruff Drafts – GUEST POST

June 6 – eBook Addicts – REVIEW

June 7 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

June 7 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

June 8 – Laura’s Interests – REVIEW

June 8 – Kelly P’s Blog – SPOTLIGHT

June 9 – Socrates Book Reviews – REVIEW

June 9 – Babs Book Bistro – SPOTLIGHT

June 10 – My Reading Journeys – REVIEW

June 10 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here Find Details and Sign Up Today!

9 thoughts on “Blog Tour and Review of Murder, She Uncovered by Peg Cochran

Add yours

  1. Sounds like a good one. I have wanted to read something by this author for a long time. I enjoy the cozy historical mysteries too. I wonder how similar it is to Malia Zaidi’s Lady Evelyn series. US versus UK styles apart, that is!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Bookaholic

Book Reviews, Recommendations

Tracey at Home

An ordinary life lived in my own way.

Inside My Library Mind

Books, Reviews & More

The Punk Theory

This world's wild at heart and weird on top.

One More Word

Jules_Writes

Love for Words - Book Blog

Book reviews, bookworm hacks, bookish content!

A World of Books

Books ~ What else is there?

James J. Cudney

Author of contemporary & mystery fiction: where family drama meets suspense

Metaphors and Miscellanea

Books, reviews, writings, and musings from the one and only K-Specks

Chelle's Book Ramblings

Let's Talk Books

It's All About Books

Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body

THE HOBBLEIT

IN A HOLE IN THE GROUND THERE LIVED A HOBBLEIT

Jacquie Biggar-USA Today Best-selling author

Read. Write. Love. 💕💕💕

Tea & Cake For The Soul

Sharing the nicer things in life such as art, travel, books and of course cake. Also discussing household and money saving tips, upcycling, eco issues & health

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

Way Too Fantasy

Speculative fiction book reviews and more!

The Crime Librarian

Bookish Reviews & Chats

lilian's blog

lifestyle and humanitarian stories? is that what you looking for? you are in the right place

Author Julie Seedorf

Author, Columnist, Dreamer

Let's talk Pop Culture!

A forum for discussing all things nerdy.

celinelingg

Book Blog

%d bloggers like this: