Mini Reviews of Snowday and Slay Bells

Sometimes hot cocoa just isn’t enough to keep you warm in the snow… 

Eloise is too busy juggling the chaos of three kids, an ever present ex-husband and a demanding boss to even remember the last time dating crossed her mind. 

But as soft snow falls silently all around, romance twinkles with the flakes. 

After being single for so long, Eloise suddenly has a lot of choices. Too many choices. Will anyone be worthy of melting the guard around her heart to let love in? 


A fun-filled, festive read for fans of Christie Barlow, Fiona Gibson and Colleen Coleman

Available on Amazon and via Kindle Unlimited

Despite what it says in the blurb, I wouldn’t call this a Christmas Romance story. I’d call it a very good contemporary tale about the trials and tribulations faced by a single mother coming to terms with the new reality of life with an ex-husband. It isn’t the most Christmasy of reads, but I found Snowday to be a quick, fun, character-centred read. 

However, I have to admit to finding the main character, Eloise, annoying sometimes. How many times in one day are you going to be daydreaming about random romantic possibilities while dealing with the daily disasters motherhood brings? That said, perhaps it’s just her way of coping with the many familial disasters that seem to follow her.

Speaking of disasters, there are a tremendous amount of dysfunctional characters in this one! While the level of dysfunction seems excessive, I really did enjoy the variety of characters introduced, from the family members to their friends, extended family and neighbours. The majority of characters are richly drawn and contribute in some significant way to the overall development of the story.  I think that’s a real highlight of this story. I do love developed characters.


My Favourite part:

Mr: Staunton’s Scrooge-esque transformation.

Least Favourite part:

Eloise’s attempts at dating, which do not bring out her best characteristics.

Overall, this is a cute, quick read with some delightful laugh out loud moments. I give Snowday 3/5 Snowy stars.


Nestled betwixt an opulent garden with meandering footpaths and an ancient grove of plum trees, Rose Willoughby’s boarding house is plum-full with lodgers. There are no vacancies, but just wait. Soon there will be one…and another…and another.

Presently lodging at the cottage are: the juggler, the acrobat, the magician, the psychic, the strongman, the manager, and the pretty assistant. In town as festival entertainment they’ve each brought their own bag of tricks. And a closetful of skeletons.

When the entertainers begin dying in inexplicable ways, some villagers believe a beast from old village lore is the culprit. The sheriff knows better, but he’s just as helpless to catch the invisible killer as are the town folk with their eyes to the sky in search of a flying creature. But our mysterious murderer hasn’t counted on yet another lodger coming to the cottage: Maribel Claus.

Short as a stump, round as a wheel, sweet as a candy cane, and a sharp as a whip, Maribel loves a good puzzle. But has she finally met her match at Plum Cottage?

​Available on Amazon.

Miss Marple meet the happy hamlet of Christmas Village where a murder will mar the tranquillity and joy with which the townsfolk carry out their daily activities. 

Okay so this isn’t a Miss Marple story but it sure gives off the same charming vibe, right down to the cute sketches of key scenes!

I found the mystery satisfactorily done. It wasn’t too hard to figure out the culprit but the motive and means kept me guessing. 

The characters are delicious. Miss Marple… I mean Mrs. Claus is too cute for words as is her friend Rose. The other secondary characters add funny moments and create a unique community. 

Sheriff Fell stepped forward to speak. “Sound? It’s not a sound theory at all! You have a man climbing a tree with one hand while carrying a person in the other.” 

“Tarzan did it all the time,” was the mayor’s response.

The language is actually a bit dated, so much so that I was surprised at times when modern conveniences such as cell phones and text message explosions were mentioned! I think this adds a tremendous amount of charm to the story, however, and I really enjoyed it.

Sometimes the cutesy descriptions, while great for creating a festive atmosphere, are a bit excessive and I found myself skimming a little. 

Perhaps my biggest disappointment with this one is the big reveal. I found it to be unnecessarily drawn out. Thankfully the enchanting sweetness continues at full tilt to make up for it all.  I look forward to returning to this hamlet to read more Christmasy mysteries.

Overall I give this story 4/5 espresso shots and recommend it to anyone looking for a Christmas Cozy.

Advertisements

15 thoughts on “Mini Reviews of Snowday and Slay Bells

Add yours

  1. Wow great reviews. Your mini review is my one review… And I thought I wrote long reviews…. Hehehe..
    I have lost my marbles, one rolled to Jay, had one rolled to you? 🤣 🤣 🤣 🤣
    Loved your review cozy babe and I agree completely to your points… I have the same author on my post… Psst – I think he didn’t like my reviews yesterday and today😂😂😂😂😂 He hates me by now 😂😂😂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hahahaha. I think we can spend all year looking for your marbles… 🤣😘
      I read them. They’re honest! I enjoyed Slay Bells and will probably just stick with this series.
      And yeah… I gotta shorten some of my reviews. I have a few still to do from 2018… problem is for a few I just don’t have much to say at all! 😬

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I have a book where only one word comes to me – I didn’t like the book. And then my brain shuts down because I was frustrated and the author was like – dude, tell me more!! 😂 😂 I wanted to say – change your career, don’t write any more books please.. 😂 😂 😂 😂

        Liked by 2 people

  2. Awesome reviews Nina. I could not figure out for the life f me, why I was not seeing anything posted by you. Like Shalini, I did loose my marbles because it was not set to get a notification DUH! Anyway, I am glad I am back to reading your post updates. I love em’. A very late Merry Christmas & happy New Year. 😳 Have a wonderful & blessed day my friend 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

lilian's blog

lifestyle and humanitarian stories? is that what you looking for? you are in the right place

Author Julie Seedorf

Author, Columnist, Dreamer

Let's talk Pop Culture!

A forum for discussing all things nerdy.

celinelingg

Book Blog

the bubbles inside my head

My bibliophilic journey and more.

AvalinahsBooks

Book blog and book love

Laurie Woodward

An Author Promoting Peace Creatively

The Reading Chemist

Out of the lab & into the books!

b u g ∙ b u g

BOOK REVIEWS

Leave Me Alone I Am Reading and Reviewing

Look Below the Keys for Books Reviewed by a Readaholic

Books and Bindings

Books, reads, writings, reviews, nonsense, silliness, and everything in between.

Just Simply Me...

This gal's thoughts on all things entertainment mixed with the simple things in life.

Creating Worlds with Words

Writers endeavor to create a world that you lose yourself in.

Bibliogyan

For Booklovers.

Ambivert words

Live-Read-Love

Combing Through the Pages

of Books, Family, Fostering, and Faith

Bookish Brownie

My Bookish Experiences

FNM

Book Reviews and More

%d bloggers like this: